Green mold on top of pod [RESOLVED]

Hi I’m new to allgrowers as well to growing anything in general. I am having trouble with my first grow, it’s been 3 weeks and nothing sprouted. Upon inspection I noticed what appears to be green mold on top of the coco pod. I followed directions and thought I had a clean environment, only opened grobo to drain and fill water when prompted. I have attached a picture below. I also inspected the seed and it did not sprout at all not sure if maybe I put it in to deep. I did scan some of the forum suggesting to soak seed first which I’m currently trying for 2nd seed. If anyone can advise I’d appreciate it and thank you in advance.

3 Likes

From
What I understand the cocopod has some microbes or something inside to help with germination so that’s what you could be seeing … but as far as the seed goes could be a dud or maybe try germinating in a cup for 24 hours… maybe there wasnt Enoch moisture to break through the skin of the seed therefore might not realize it’s time to germinate

2 Likes

3 weeks? Wow, yea, I really think you’d see something by now if it was going to grow. If you left the coco pod moist, you should have def had a sprout by now. Might be time to start over.

3 Likes

Hi @Blackthumb,

Welcome to the forums! Sorry to hear your seed didn’t pop! 3 weeks is much longer than I’d wait, usually fresh seeds will pop within 3-5 days. You may have a bit of algae growth on top of the pod if it was wet for 3 weeks in the full blast of the light. Usually the plant comes up and covers the coco pod, and the lower water level dries it out enough to combat any algae growth. It’s not harmful and can be wiped off if you wish.

It is indeed time to start again my friend, sorry.

Best,
Stephen

3 Likes

@Blackthumb if you haven’t thrown out your seed yet you can try this step I watched on YouTube… :eyes::eye::clapper::wink::smiley:

Good Luck… :grin:

3 Likes