Water chiller

So I’m new to grobo , looking into a water chiller im aware that the water goes through the grobo into the water chiller and back out does this affect nutrients or water ?? As in more nutrients or water ?

4 Likes

I assume the nutrients are filtered with the water in and out of the cooler. Shouldn’t be any issues

3 Likes

I think you’re asking if you need extra nutrients to compensate for the amount of extra water needed to use the chiller?

I don’t think the Grobo will add additional nutrients. The system monitors the EC (Electrical Connectivity but the value can not be seen by the grower) but does not adjust it. When you do a complete drain and fill nutrients get dispensed based on the recipe.

4 Likes

For those following this thread, this is from support:

“I’ve had several growers add chillers to the tanks, but they are not designed for this, and it messes up the water level sensors reporting correctly.”

It may void your warranty. Not sure.

4 Likes

So save my money ?

Or wait and see?

Honestly man I’d just wait and see

3 Likes

I’d suggest waiting as well. I did go with a water chiller, but I still had two plants die at a young age, one with a root issue, the other we did not determine a root cause (no pun intended).

If you are concerned about your water temperature, send an email to support to see what they suggest. Let them be the ones to tell you to install a water cooler.

Otherwise if you’ve got the money to blow, maybe still send an email to support to see if they would continue to support you with a water cooler installed.

My hopes/thoughts are that Grobo is working on add-on components that will make their machine “compatible” with a water cooler.

4 Likes

I would also wait. I was similar attitude to you, while waiting for the unit to arrive. I was going to buy a water chiller.

Instead, I supplement with Hydroguard, which is much cheaper, and have had no problems with my first grow.