New to growing

Hello, my name is Dennis and I’m new to growing. I can’t seem to get a seed to take off. One died so I decided to germinate one and it sprouted a tap root within 24 hours. That was last Thursday. Nothing I happened yet. Is that normal? Is there a way to make the unit warmer on the inside?

4 Likes

Welcome @pkroaster. Yeah it can take a week or so for it to come up. Where abouts to do you have your Grobo? Do you know the temp in and around it currently?

It’s in my basement. I have a thermometer in the unit and it’s reading 70-71

1 Like

Yeah that’s what mine is/was at for the germination. If you want to raise the temps you may need a small space heater but that won’t be too efficient if the area is big. My thermostat is set at 22 which is around what your at.

Thanks for the info. I gently took the pod out to take a look at the tap root which is growing. I’m pretty sure that was a bad noob mistake. I hope I didn’t kill it.

1 Like

Yeah just leave it be, this is easily the most fragile and possibly finicky stage for it. I know the feeling, it’s hard to not want to see anything, especially if you already had a seed not work out. Happened to me too but my next one came out fine. Just give it a couple more days :+1:

3 Likes

i’m in the same boat. Fist grow, 2nd try at getting the seed to pop and grow. Day 4- also see nothing. Sure it will be fine- just give it some time.

3 Likes

@pkroaster,

((#Welcome))::wave::wink:

--

:wave::wink:

((#ChampionGotYouCovered)): :clap:

((#Stages)): :1234:

https://www.allgrowers.com/t/stages-in-a-grow-cycle/1740/3?u=silvergrobo

((#Seed)): :egg: ((#Germination)): :seedling: ((#YouTubeVideo)): :video_camera:

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Starting+From+Seed+How+to+start+Growing+Cannabis

--

:green_thumb:

2 Likes

My first didnt sprout for 11 days when I just inserted directly into pod. Sounds like you were okay from the rest of the posting.

2 Likes