Beginner growing techniques

Total beginner here. Can anyone point me to some good beginner growing techniques to make sure my plants get the best chance at growing big, strong, and with lots of yield?

1 Like

Not sure if this qualifies as a beginner tip or not, but making sure the air around your plants is well circulated so that your plant gets an even distribution of air. You can put a small fan next to your plants to push air around. This also helps the stems grow thicker and stronger.

2 Likes

Hey Anz!

Can you tell us a bit more about how much time and money you want to spend on this? A pot with soil and a grow light is the cheapest way to start but will require some time and patience to have success. Hydroponics is more expensive to begin with but can produce larger yields in shorter time.

B

I don’t mind spending a bit of time on tending to my plants, but I don’t want it to take over my life. I have some plants growing outside on my patio in small containers right now, and I have to water them every morning, which I don’t mind. I also do a little bit of maintenance, but I won’t want to do much more.

Great tip nf767!

You are referring to transpiration which is important to the plant in getting the nutrients it needs to the places it needs them. Basically your plant evaporates moisture at the leaf level, enabling it to bring water & nutes up through the roots. Better nutrient uptake = bigger & better yields.

Great question Anz,

One of the easiest growing techniques you can employ to increase your yield is topping your plant. This will enable two new shoots to emerge and form large colas (buds or flowers) where you would only have one if this process is not done. I’ve included a great picture from howtogrowmarijuana.com for reference.

2 Likes

That’s an awesome trick! Definitely going to try that. Always good to have more flowers.

2 Likes

Fucking sweet trick! Double the meds!

1 Like

Would you recommending topping only once in the Grobo?