Par Meter App for Smartphone!

Hi Everyone!

I just had to let everyone know about Photone. I came across a video on YouTube about this app while researching par meters. I was all ready to drop around $500 on a quality meter and watched the video through the eyes of a sceptic. I downloaded the free app and called my friend to bring over his fancy par meter. After listening to him make fun of the idea that a smartphone camera could be an accurate par meter for 10 minutes we decided to put the app to the test. The app is “free” for some types of light like sunlight, CFL and incandescent lights but you need to pay $5 for the ability to meter LEDs, blue, red, HPS, CMH etc.

I paid the $5 and we tested them side by side. We first made a grid and then took 25 readings inside my tent. What we learned was that there was a variance but no more than 10 par +-. When it comes to par, I feel this variance is more than acceptable, correct me if I’m wrong as I’m just learning.

It’s an app that can save you some money which you can spend on a fun toy instead of a par meter. I have the newest iPhone 12 Pro so wanted to say that in case you try it with an older phone and it’s not as accurate. Happy Growing All!

11 Likes

@Wake thats pretty awesome! I’m going to have to check that out! Thanks for sharing!

5 Likes

@Wake,

• (Super Cool New Ideas, -And- Inventions): {:new: :green_thumb:}:

{:heart_eyes:}:

--

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

3 Likes

@Mpower11 Did you ever get a chance to check this app out? I still use it and it, seems to do very well. I have a couple friends using it and everyone seems happy with the results as well.

2 Likes