Does anyone use extra nutrients?

I just started my first “real” grow since getting my unit. I have a lingering question, especially since I’m a novice grower. Does anyone know if you can use other nutrients or additives in conjunction with or in place of the bar nutrients they give you. Just wondering, I woulds like to grow the best bud possible.

4 Likes

There are all sorts of posts floating around about people using this, people using that, I had the same burning question so I asked @Dani.

The response she gave me, sorry it’s not verbatim, but per the team they recommend only adding hydroguard along with your Grobo nutrients to prevent root rot.

Hope that helps! :grin:

5 Likes

If its your first grow in the grobo, I wouldn’t do any added nutes other than hydroguard or a similar product. But yes, you can use a whole range of nutes. The important thing to know when adding anything extra is there has to be a correct sequence for it to work properly. When/if you add extra nutes, always let the nutes from the machine dispense first. Give them 30 min or so to mix in the water, then add other nutes with a syringe by plunging into the grobo by lifting the lid. Hydroguard always goes last.

5 Likes

From what I’ve been reading, a few pros agree that ‘big bud’ and ‘flawless finish’ are the two extras to use at the end of the grow outside of hydroguard if you are going to use anything else. Ive personally only used big bud and hydroguard so I cant speak to anything else.

4 Likes

How did those 2 work for you. Did you notice any difference as opposed to when you didn’t use it?

1 Like

One thing to underline with additional nutrients, is that as much as they can help they can also hurt. I recently caused a nutrient lockout in my last grow from mixing an additive improperly, for example, which resulted in complications and might’ve actually reduced my yield (and quality) somewhat.